Awaken to the New

DaffodilsSpring is one of my favorite times of the year. Where I live, it is sometimes fleeting and easily missed. Whether we take the time to notice it or not, it still comes faithfully … despite late-season snow and “unseasonable” temperatures. The trees, grass, and flowers awaken from their winter slumber. Spring is never canceled—it may arrive differently from year to year or from one geographical location to another, but nature awakens to the new.

It seems to me that the global pandemic related to the novel coronavirus-COVID-19 provides each of us with the opportunity to awaken to the new. Our lives are necessarily very different from what they were just a few weeks ago. Business and life are far from “normal.” We have seen and experienced the oneness as a global community in ways many of us could not have imagined. We have been given a new wake up call to, as Sr. Ilia Delio writes, “think new,” because the power of God is yearning to do new things, to create more wholeness of life, to transform earth into the fullness of Christ, so that “they may all be one” (Jn 17:21).*

In these days of “physical distancing,” we are being invited to “think new” about how we learn, connect, share gifts and talents, and celebrate liturgy. As a human race, we can live through this time with love, gratitude, hope, and grace or fall into dystopian despair. I feel truly blessed to be surrounded (virtually) by many loving and compassionate groups. It is exciting to explore possibilities and to “think new” about services and ministries. NACAR strives to be one of those organizations providing support and sending positive energy into the world. We encourage you to share the new ways that you are learning to be community in this current reality. How might we re-imagine the Associate-Religious relationship in this new time … together for the sake of the world? May this spring and Easter season be a season of awakening and an invitation to “think new.”


Please note: The Associate Leadership Retreat was cancelled on March 11, 2020. If you have any questions, contact us.


Creative Conversations #18

"Dealing with Grief and Loss in Our Communities"

The video and written notes are now available on the NACAR website for members only.

NEW FEATURE

Below the downloadable notes - please continue the conversation by adding a comment. Click Notify Me so you can read what others are saying.

You must login before you attempt to access them.


Creative Conversations #19

"Facing the Financial Future with our Associates"

April 15, 2020

1:00 PM EDT, Noon CDT, 11:00 AM MT, 10:00 AM PDT

An email will be sent for registration.


*Delio, Ilia. Making All Things New: Catholicity, Cosmology, Consciousness (Catholicity in an Evolving Universe Series). Orbis Books. Kindle Edition.

 

Please login to post comments.

Comments powered by CComment

Please login to comment
  • No comments found
© 2018 North American Conference of Associates and Religious.